My former “About page” in my former “Making Sense” blog

This used to be the About page in my socimages “Making Sense” blog:

This blog was partly inspired by the very interesting Context.org Sociological Images blog (http://contexts.org/socimages/).

Their blog description states: “Sociological Images encourages people to exercise and develop their sociological imaginations with discussions of compelling visuals that span the breadth of sociological inquiry.”

That is all very nice, but in practice, it doesn’t always work that way, although they do deserve credit when it does. One of the reasons I have become a regular reader and commenter on socimages is exactly because several of their posts prompt me to think and reflect about issues in interesting ways.

On the other hand, other problems can arise. Some viewpoints and discussions on socimages have been completely censored because of political stances, not civility problems. Since I don’t read every post, I don’t know how often this happens or how bad it is. But having my own blog creates an alternate space for speech that is stifled or censored elsewhere.

I also received a comment from someone who suggested I create a blog because I was taking “too much space” in a thread where I was the only person defending a particular viewpoint against all other commenters. Although the suggestion of trying to censor minority viewpoints is contrary to a well-argued discussion, it did lead me to think that having my own blog would be quite nice, mostly to post and comment on additional material not covered by socimages.

“J’aime pas les pseudo-démocrates qui refusent toute discussion en vomissant, en des termes peu ou fréquemment usités, leur haine de ceux qui osent les contredire.”

‘,’About this blog’,’0′,”,’publish’,’open’,’closed’,”,’about-this-blog’,”,’

Leave a Reply

